Skip to content

Local Indigenous elementary school graduates awarded for academic excellence, improvement (5 photos)

Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services and Neech-ke-Wehn celebrates Indigenous Grade 8 Grads with annual award

As summer begins, Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services (OAHS) and Neech-ke-Wehn Homes are happy to celebrate Algoma’s Grade 8 graduates! The Neech-ke-Wehn Homes Grade 8 Award is an annual bursary of $100 given to Indigenous students graduating elementary school in the Algoma area. Nominated by school faculty members, two awards of “Best Student” and “Most Improved Student” were submitted, and this year both Neech-ke-When and OAHS have allotted 27 students to receive the bursary this year.

The award began in the 1980s when the late Carolyn Harrington was a community worker at the Sault Ste. Marie Indigenous Friendship Centre. Carolyn Harrington was one of the founders of Neech-ke-Wehn Homes and was its President. The award has continued for over the past 40 years. As of 2022, the award will be renamed the Carolyn Harrington Award in her honour.

“This award is one with history and significance to our community and graduates. It is fitting that going forward, that the award be named in her memory for the outstanding work she accomplished throughout her life,” says Thömas Kakapshe, Executive Director of Neech-ke-Wehn.

Congratulations go out to the following Algoma students in receiving this award: 

Grand View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Beau Boudreau – Best Student
  • Nick Louttit – Most Improved Student 

St. Basil’s Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Tianna Hill – Best Student
  • Tyler Neveau – Most Improved Student
  • Ethan Neveau – Most Improved Student
  • Thalia Agawa – Most Improved Student

St. Mary’s Catholic School (Blind River)

  • Alexander Kakeeway-Boyer – Best Student
  • Theo Babiwash – Most Improved Student

Holy Cross Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Jayden Corbiere – Most Improved Student

Ben R. McMullin Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Owen Lariviere – Most Improved Student

St. Paul Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Celia Higo – Best Student
  • Gracie Agawa – Best Student
  • Ethan Agawa – Most Improved Student

Blind River Public School (Blind River)

  • Nicholas Cada – Best Student

F.H. Clergue Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Lauren Doyle-Moran – Best Student
  • Sophie Lamour – Most Improved Student

Korah Collegiate & Vocational School – Intermediate (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Griffen Albert – Best Student
  • Avery Frech-Bouchard – Most Improved Student

East View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • William Sayers – Best Student
  • Cameron Wynne – Most Improved Student

Tarentorous Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Rhiannon Barbeau – Best Student
  • Marcel Jones-Goodfellow – Most Improved Student

Central Algoma Secondary School – Intermediate (Desbarats)

  • Denny Barry – Best Student

Sir James Dunn Public School (Wawa)

  • Lyllie Mattaini-Grasley – Best Student
  • Madelaine Jordan – Most Improved Student

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • Aydin Schrik – Most Improved Student

Congratulations to all of the Grade 8 graduates and we wish them the best of luck as they enter secondary school this fall