Skip to content

Sault College recognizes top athletes

Awards were presented to athletes across various sports
Sault College President David Orazietti (left) with Athletes of the Year Emma Lee (centre) and Ethan Esposito (right).

Sault College recognized athletes across four sports on Wednesday evening as part of its annual awards banquet.

Hockey players Emma Lee and Ethan Esposito earned top honours as they were named the Athletes of the year.

Esposito led the men's hockey team with 40 goals and 58 points in 27 games this season and was named first team National All-Athletic honours for Division 2 American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA).

Lee had 32 goals and 57 points in 25 regular season games and was a key part of the women's hockey team winning its second consecutive national championship. Lee was named tournament MVP and first team all star honours at the national championship in St. Louis where she scored seven goals and nine points in five games.

The male rookie of the year award went to Nick Jameus of the men's hockey team while Materia Land of the women's hockey team was named the female rookie of the year. 

The women’s hockey team was named Team of the Year, finishing with an overall record of 29-1-0-1 and capturing Sault College's second consecutive national championship.

Women’s hockey head coach Brianne Shunock received the Coach of the Year honours for the third consecutive season.

Mixed Doubles curlers Brooke Nicholson and Charles Darling earned the G.R. Hodgson Award, presented to a male and female student that displays athletic talent, academic proficiency, leadership and proudly contributes to the athletic program. Nicholson and Darling won gold at the OCAA Provincial championships.

The Cougar Pride award acknowledges athletes that positively represent Sault College and the varsity program, while showing pride and dedication to their team. Recipients of the Cougar Pride award were men’s and women’s soccer players Julian Roberts and Ainslee Buchan. 

The Top International Athlete award was presented to men’s baseball player Bryce Blixt from Manistique, Mich. of the men's baseball team.  

Virginia McLeod received the Gerry McGuire Cougar Contributor Award, which is given to an athletic support staff for their extensive contribution of time and talent toward the operation of the Sault College Athletics program. 

2023-24 Team Awards 

  • Men’s Curling Most Valuable Player – Jake Reid 
  • Women’s Curling Most Valuable Player – Brooke Nicholson 
  • Men’s Golf Most Valuable Player – Tanner Matier 
  • Men’s Hockey Most Valuable Player – Ethan Esposito 
  • Women’s Hockey Most Valuable Player – Emily Moore 
  • Men’s Soccer Most Valuable Player – Dylan Winsor 
  • Women’s Soccer Most Valuable Player – Ainslee Buchan and Cassandra Beckinridge  

What's next?

If you would like to apply to become a Verified reader Verified Commenter, please fill out this form.