Skip to content

Sault College honours top athletes

Marie-Pier Lecours and Connor Simms were named the school's athletes of the year
Sault College Athletes of the Year: women’s hockey player Marie-Pier Lecours and men’s curler Connor Simms.

Sault College honoured its student-athletes on Wednesday night as part of its annual awards banquet.

Curler Connor Simms and hockey player Marie-Pier Lecours were named men's and women's athletes of the year.

A member of Sault College's national championship winning women's hockey team, Lecours finished second in the American Collegiate Hockey Association in scoring with 61 points in 31 games.

Simms skipped Sault College's men's curling team to a bronze medal at the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association championship and helped the team to a Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association national championship berth.

Charles Darling of the men's curling team and Emily Moore of the women's hockey team were names rookies of the year while Sault College's women's hockey team was named the team of the year after going 31-0-0 this season.

Brianne Shunock was named coach of the year, coming off her second season at the helm of Sault College's women's hockey team.

Olivia Barsanti and Jordan Ritchie earned the G.R Hodgson Award, which recognizes student-athletes who display athletic talent, academic excellence, leadership and proudly contribute to their sport.

The Cougar Pride award, given to a male and female athlete that demonstrates dedication and honour to their team, was won by Caleb Wood and Taylor Pelletier-Cullerier.

Ileana Ramirez won the Top Performing International Athlete award for demonstrating a positive attitude and sportsmanship throughout the curling season. Ramirez also received the OCAA Women's Fair Play award at the provincial championships.

The Gerry McGuire Cougar Contributor Award went to Mike Hall and Mark Hebert for their extensive contribution of time and talent towards the men's hockey program and Sault College Athletics.

The individual team most valuable players for 2022-23 include:

  • Baseball: Matthew Forsey
  • Men’s Curling: Connor Simms
  • Women’s Curling: Taylor Pelletier-Cullerier
  • Men’s Golf: Keven Brennan
  • Men’s Hockey: Caleb Wood
  • Women’s Hockey: Marie-Pier Lecours
  • Men’s Soccer: Alessandro Ciampaglia
  • Women’s Soccer: Jayna Petingola

What's next?

If you would like to apply to become a Verified reader Verified Commenter, please fill out this form.