Skip to content

More than 300 students honoured at 45th Sault College Bursaries and Awards night

Close to $350,000 awarded to students
File photo

For the second time this month, Sault College staff, community members, students and supporters joined together to celebrate the outstanding academic accomplishments of our students.

On Tuesday evening, at the 45th annual Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards (SBA) night, more than 300 students were honoured for their commitment to academic excellence. The evening also provided an opportunity to express the College’s sincere appreciation to all of the donors for their unwavering commitment to our College and students while highlighting the strength of Sault College’s Financial Aid program. 

Throughout the evening close to $350,000 was distributed to many deserving students.

“The Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards evening is an annual event that we are honoured to host,” said Terry Ableson, financial aid administrator and chair, SBA Committee.

“This exciting evening allows us to formally celebrate our students and highlight their achievements in front of staff, fellow students, guests and our donors who make this night possible. We graciously thank all of our community supporters and donors who have helped to shape our SBA program and whose support has been instrumental in assisting many students pursue their educational goals,” she added.

Mitchell Mannarino was awarded the Governor General’s Academic Medal – the top award of the SBA program.

Since 1873, Governor Generals of Canada have sponsored this medal to encourage and recognize excellent academics at various levels of the educational system. It is awarded to the student graduating from the previous year’s three-year program who has achieved the highest academic standing in the College in the final year of his/her program.

During the 2017/18 academic year, more than $1.65 million will be distributed to more than 1,700 students through the SBA and other various bursary programs.

Each year, the generosity of donors who support Sault College students continues to grow.

This year, several new awards have been established, each offering significant benefits to students. These include: Algoma Highlands Conservancy Award, Pam Bent Conservation Award, Cavera Inc. Excellence in User Experience Award, The Lynn Dee Eason Award, Office Administration, McDougall Energy and ESSO Fuelling the Future Award, Wayne Russell Memorial Scholarship.

Sault College would like to extend a sincere thank you to all of the individual and corporate donors for believing in our College and in our students. This support positively impacts our students and encourages them to continue to strive for excellence.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!

Reader Feedback