Current Conditions
-0.7 C
Today's Forecast
-5 C
Chance of flurries
Sponsored by Highland Ford

News And Views




Shop Local

More Local

Search The Web

Google Search

252 people that we're very proud of

By Staff
Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Last night, Sault College honoured 252 top students at its 36th annual Scholarship, Bursaries and Awards event.

The annual event at the Great Northern Resort and Conference Centre brings donors and students face-to-face so donors can be thanked for their ongoing generosity.

“We are truly inspired by the tremendous gesture that some people make as they donate funds in memory of a loved one and provide funds for a young person to attend post secondary school,” said Terry Ableson, the college's financial aid administrator and chair of its scholarships, bursaries and awards program.

New awards this year include the Dr. (Mrs.) Alam Sundaram Memorial Scholarship, the Bill Armstrong Memorial Scholarship, and the Michael McFarling Recognition Award. 

As well, new awards have been established with proceeds from the annual Savour the Night Appetizer Challenge.

Andrew Horst was this year’s top award recipient, receiving the Governor General’s Academic Medal Award.

Horst is an aviation graduate and now works at the college as a flight instructor.

The following is the full list of this year's award recipients:

The 2004 Graduates - Accelerated Office
Adminstration Achievement Award
Alison Villeneuve

Academic Upgrading Award
Aja Wilson
Jordie Belleau
Steven Mancuso

Cathy Adams Memorial Scholarship
David Salminen

Algoma Branch Association of Early
Childhood Educators Award
Kay Ralph

Algoma Steel Award of Excellence
Jessica Charron
Leonard Roetman

Algoma Treatment & Remand Centre Award
Jory Bumbacco

Alzheimer Society of Sault Ste. Marie & Algoma
District Scholarship
Stephanie Bressan

Anishinaabe Student Achievement Award -
Social Service Worker - Native Program Scholarship
Karen Corbiere
Mike Bourke

Anishinabek Nation Credit Union Scholarship
Charlene Jones

Marion Arthur Memorial Scholarship -
Community Living Algoma
Kaitlynd Hewitt-reynolds

Dr. Samarendranath Banerjee Memorial Scholarship
Lisa Palmer
Kevin-rae Pepin
Clorinda Castagna
Liza Turpin

Dean Barkley Memorial Award
Marc Richichi

Earl Berlinghoff Memorial Award
Krysta Waldorf

Bill Armstrong Memorial Scholarship
Justin Lunelli

Sarah Bougie Memorial Award
Tasha Shaule

Brookfield Power - Computer Studies Scholarship
Kyle Hayhurst

Brookfield Power - Power Generation Scholarship
Jennifer Tessier

Harry F. Burns Memorial Scholarship
Shannon Lacrosse

Business and Professional Women's Club Scholarships
Jessica Jobst
Nikita Moores

Dr. Rose Meraglia Caicco Award
Alison Villeneuve

John Callahan Memorial Award
Kevin Legacy
Rejean Routhier
Kyle Armstrong

Campbell Family Award
Kassandra Thibault
Kelsey Berry
Yurelis Perez batista

Canadian Institute Of Forestry Gold Medal
Tiffany Forsyth

Walter Ceolin Bursary
Jason Gasparetto

CGA Ontario Award For Excellence
Randall Allison

Mike Channer Memorial Award
Liam Pearson

Chartwells Award
Michelle Jolin

CIBC Wood Gundy & Joe Maione Award
Laura Squire

City of Sault Ste. Marie Scholarships
Sheri-lynn Devoe
Darla Bedore
Laura Mowat
Pamela jean Bourgeois
Miranda King
Sarah Ozga
Tanya Taylor
Tristina Turco
Lisa Pringle
Olivia Potvin

Kenneth G. Clarke Memorial Scholarship
Daniel Coombs
Benjamin Orchard

Community First Credit Union Ltd.
Mildred Krmpotich Memorial Scholarship
Natalie Grondin

Computer Studies Excellence Awards
David Hunter
Danny Tomas
David Orr

Bob Cook Award
Patricia Nahwegahbow

CTV Broadcasting Scholarship
Barbara Brown

CYW Co-ordinator`s Award
Chantale Tournier

Doyle Family Scholarship
Nicole Trudel

Dumanski Office Interiors/Compass Imaging
Graphic Arts and Design Award
Thomas Beaton

Cheryl Duplin Memorial Nursing Awards
Shantelle Nichol
Ralph Andrada

John Falsetto Memorial Scholarship
Paul Guerin

First Nation Nursing Scholarship
Clorissa Boyer

First Year Design Merit Award
Kathryn Manley

Sara Fryia Memorial Scholarship
Stephanie Bressan

D. G. Furber Law & Security Administration Award
Kevin Cotgreave

Ruth Galinis Scholarship Award
Andrea Whyte

Francine Gauthier Memorial Scholarship
Laurie Smith

Jeannine Goudreault Memorial Scholarship
Kirsten Frandsen

Tom Goulding Memorial Award
Jennifer Robinson

Governor General`s Academic Medal Award
Andrew Horst

Lee Ann Gray Memorial Scholarship
Geraldine Patrie

Roderick Borden Gray G. C. Memorial Scholarship (George Cross)
Kyle Sipos
David Killick

Horizon Capital Group Award
Sandra Moore

Hospitality Club`s Leadership Award
Deanna Clark
Kim Dorval
Daniel Gauthier
Jennifer Woodbeck

Hospitality Division Scholarships
Gina Lavigne
Melissa Robinson

Hospitality Excellence Award
Jessica Charron
Ricky Borean

The Henry Johnson Timber Scholarship
Mike Hosszu

The Kiwanis Club of Sault Ste. Marie Scholarship
Sarah Collins

Gwen Korrey Memorial Bursary -
Zonta Club of Sault Ste. Marie Area
Judy Vondrasek

Joseph Kuchma Memorial ALS Scholarship
Katrina Holkko

Local Citizen`s Committee Award in Memory of Jim Miller
Lindsay Knezevich

Click here to see more winners

Advertising | Membership | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About | Contact Us | Feedback

Copyright ©2014 - All rights reserved