Skip to content

Ross, Jackson, Ware winners at Laird Raceway

Next scheduled race will be Friday, July 12 featuring the Factory Stock Run for the Flag

Our second race night of the season was held on July 5. After a successful season start the week before, we got another great night of racing in under sunny skies, and warm temperatures. Rob Wagner was up on the front stretch to sing the national anthems, then the racing got started with lots of good heated racing in most divisions.

Northern Fencing Super Late Model Division

Action in the Super Late Model division was  very exciting. As the in true fashion it was a true rumble with twin 25-lap features in the Late Model Division during our race evening.

Dustin Jackson was fast qualifier with a time of 14.562 seconds around the 1/3 mile paved oval.  

The first feature,saw seven cars line up. Rob Heiimaa took the win, followed by Kevin Errington, Keith King, Dan Byrnes and Dustin Jackson.

The second late model feature was also a 25-lapper. This feature was clean, smooth, and caution-free. The group of seven were joined by latecomer Zak St. John in an unnumbered red car to make eight to start. Dustin Jackson took the win with Ron Raynor in second, Dan Byrnes third, Rob Hiiemaa was fourth, Kevin Errington fifth, Jake Irwin sixth, Zak St. John, and Keith King took eight  having left the track a lap before the end.

Service Rentals Factory Stocks

There were six Factory Stocks out to qualify. Fast qualifier was Daniel Bibeau. In the heat neither Fox nor Bibeau were on the track, likely because of suffering damage in the dash that didn’t allow them to continue.  

The pair were not in the feature either. Jerry Ross, Jacob Heimonen, Jon Diodati, and Rob Wagner for the eight-lap heat. Ross managed to lead the last couple laps for the win. Heimonen had to settle for second. Diodati third, and Wagner was fourth.

The same four returned for their 15-lap feature later. The race ran caution free, with Ross taking the checkers, Diodati second, about ¾ of a lap behind, and Wagner third, Heimonen left the track before the end.

NAPA Auto Parts Modified Division

Modified division had 12 cars in attendance. A couple of those cars arrived late and did not qualify. Josh Ware in the #7 was fast qualifier with a time of 15.152 seconds.

The modified heat was nothing less than crazy. The 10 cars that started went three wide multiple times and there were multiple cautions. Missing from the heat were John Ross, and Josh Ware. Wilson took it to the finish for the checkers. Bolduc second, Laakso 3rd, Aho 4th, Carbone 5th, McCoy 6th, and Sykes 7th.   

The modified feature saw all 12 cars in attendance out. Ware, last year’s division champion took home the win. Bolduc 2nd, Laakso 3rd, Porpealia 4th, Ross 5th, and Varcoe 6th. Irwin, Aho, McCoy were all a lap down, Sykes two laps down.
Atomic Blonde Factory Fours

Three cars in division: Jason Kern, Kayla Kernell, and Andrew Premo. Also on track was Randy Larrett in an enduro car. In their sole 15-lap feature, Kern jumped to the front with Kurnell and our Enduro car out showing the fans how easy it is to get behind the wheel and have some fun leading up to there 250 lap race later in the season.

Wrap Up

During intermission, 14-year-old Shanna Harten had her mini wedge out to show the crowd and spin a couple laps. Mini wedge racing will take place at Laird towards the end of the season and is open to kids 6 to 14. Give us a call at Laird if you are interested in getting your son or daughter, or grandchild into racing. 705-256-1652

Our next scheduled race will be Friday, July 12 when we hold the Factory Stock Run for the Flag. Need a ride to the track? We have a bus running from town on race nights. It departs Misty’s 50’s at 5:30 p.m., The Harp at 5:50 p.m., and the Roadhouse at 6:10 p.m. Cost is $25, which includes gate entry. The bus departs the track shortly after the races are over.

Visit  or for more photos, stories and video clips.