Skip to content

Ontario wins the Tim Hortons Brier

NEWS RELEASES CANADIAN CURLING ASSOCIATION ************************* Ontario Wins Tim Hortons Brier HAMILTON -- Ontario’s Glenn Howard is the 2007 Canadian Men’s Curling Champion.



************************* Ontario Wins Tim Hortons Brier HAMILTON -- Ontario’s Glenn Howard is the 2007 Canadian Men’s Curling Champion.

Howard, with third Richard Hart, second Brent Laing and lead Craig Savill, beat Newfoundland’s Brad Gushue 10-6 in the final of the Tim Hortons Brier here Sunday evening.

There were two turning points. In the seventh end, Gushue elected a very difficult double-takeout that could have netted him three and an 8-5 lead. But he crashed on a guard and gave up a steal of two instead.

And then in the ninth end, with Howard clinging to a 7-6 lead, the Coldwater skip tapped a Newfoundland counter back just far enough to count three and take the 10-6 lead that proved to be the final score.

It was the third Brier win for Howard, who played third for brother Russ Howard on Brier winning teams in 1987 and 1993. It was the first Brier title for third Richard Hart, second Brent Laing and lead Craig Savill, along with fifth Steve Bice and coach Scott Taylor.

Howard was asked how this win compares to the two previous.

“It’s been so long, I’ve forgotten what it was like. It’s been a long time, ‘93 man. I’m just ecstatic, I love the win, I love these guys, they played so well for me the last three years.”

It was a difficult ending for Gushue, who opened the round-robin at 1-3 but went on an eight-game winning streak to advance to the final.

Gushue said his critical rock in the seventh end picked up some debris before it crashed on the guard.

“If we make it, we win. If I make a half-shot, we’re one down with three to play, hammer in eight.

“Unfortunately, right out of my hand it grabbed something. Unbelievable that in that type of situation that would happen.”

It was the ninth Brier win for Ontario and first since 1998.

With the win, the Howard team will now represent Canada at the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship in Edmonton, Mar. 31-Apr.8.

The team also picks up berths to the 2007 Continental Cup, 2008 Strauss Canada Cup and the 2009 Canadian Curling Trials pre-event qualifier. The team also now receives $144,000 in Sport Canada funding over the next two years.

As finalists, both Howard and Gushue receive $40,000 in appearance money. Third place Manitoba received $30,000, while fourth place Alberta received $20,000.

Howard also won the Hec Gervais playoff MVP award.

The final attendance at Copps Coliseum was 107,199. *************************

The Canadian Curling Reporters 2007 Tim Hortons Brier All-star teams announced HAMILTON, March 11, 2007…Members of the Canadian Curling Reporters (CCR) selected the first and second all-star teams for the 2007 Tim Hortons Brier. The results, announced by CCR Past President Brian McAndrew of the Toronto Star, were as follows:

FIRST TEAM ------------

SKIP - Glenn Howard, Ontario

THIRD - John Morris, Alberta

SECOND - Marc Kennedy, Alberta

LEAD - Craig Savill, Ontario

SECOND TEAM ------------

SKIP - Kevin Martin, Alberta

THIRD - Ryan Fry, Manitoba

SECOND - Gerry Adam, Saskatchewan

LEAD - Ben Hebert, Alberta

Bill Graveland of The Canadian Press/Broadcast News and Janie Hobart, a member of the Canadian Curling Association Board of Directors, presented The Canadian Curling Reporters All-Star Awards to the winners.


The Ross Harstone Trophy is presented each year to the player chosen by his peers as the curler in the Tim Hortons Brier who best represents Ross G.L. Harstone’s high ideals of good sportsmanship, observance of the rules, exemplary conduct and curling ability.

Fran Todd, CCA Board liaison to the 2007 Tim Hortons Brier, presented the Ross Harstone Award to Northwest Territories/Yukon second, Mark Whitehead.

SCOTTY HARPER AWARD – Media Award ($500.00)

For the best curling story of 2006, as selected by the School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University, the Award is in memory of the late Scotty Harper of the Winnipeg Free Press, whose curling reports enlivened that journal for many years. The award had not been presented for a number of years but with the help of the CCA, the award was re-introduced in 2005 and won by Paul Wiecek of the Winnipeg Free Press. Last year’s winner was Allen Cameron of the Calgary Herald.

The winner was SWEEP Magazine’s Jim Henderson, for his story, “Torino 2006”. The presentation was made by TSN’s Vic Rauter, the Master of Ceremonies for the Awards Luncheon Buffet.

PAUL McLEAN AWARD (named in honour of the late, highly-respected TSN Producer of curling, football, world juniors hockey, etc., who died in December of 2005)

The Award was presented for the first time by the CCR and TSN to a media person ‘behind the scenes’ who has made a significant contribution to the sport of curling.

The inaugural recipient was Richard Wells, TSN Director (Hockey, Baseball and Curling)

Making the presentation were CCR President Bill Graveland and Ken McLean, father of Paul.