Skip to content

Meet the newest Sault Sports Hall of Fame inductees

Community Development Award winners will also be named on Monday
Sault arm wrestler Marty Dimma, at left, competes with Nova Scotia’s Will Sarty at the 2023 Canadian Armwrestling Championship

Sault Ste. Marie city council is expected to name arm wrestler Marty Dimma and cyclist Jesse Jakomait to the Sault Ste. Marie Hall of Fame on Monday.

The two were selected from 13 nominees this year.

In keeping with a council decision made in January, Dimma and Jakomait will be recognized on Sept. 28 at one event that will honour recipients of all municipal awards.

Dimma is being honoured for these accomplishments as an arm wrestler:

  • 2001 Provincial Championship Silver Medal
  • 2002 National Championship 5th place
  • 2008 Northern Ontario Silver Medal
  • 2013 Won Provincial and National Championship
  • 2013 12th in open and 17th in masters at WAF Championship in Gdynia, Poland
  • 2019 Provincial Championship Silver Medal
  • 2022 Silver at Professional Arm Wrestling League (PAL) in Barrie

Here are Jakomait's career highlights:

  • 2003 1st Canada Cup, Bromont, QC
  • 2004 Canadian National Team Member
  • 2004 Ontario Provincial Series Winner
  • multiple 2nd and 3rd-place finishes at Canada Cup Races

Also on Monday, the following are expected to be named joint winners of the Community Development Award: Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club/Hiawatha Highlands, Kinsmen Club of Sault Ste. Marie, Sault Cycling Club and The Voyageur Trail Association.

Those four organizations are lauded for building and maintaining the  trail system in the Hiawatha Highlands area.

"This four-season destination offers world-class Nordic skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, and biking opportunities for residents of Sault Ste. Marie while providing a significant tourist draw to the community. The trail system caters to all levels, from beginner to advanced, providing physical activity and recreational opportunities in a beautiful natural setting," says a report prepared for Monday's council meeting.

"This exceptional trail system and the informal partnership of the aforementioned organizations would not be possible without the many private and public landowners who grant access to their land."

The Community Recognition Award, Municipal Heritage Award and Walk of Fame Award will not be given out this year.

Monday's city council meeting will be live-streamed on SooToday starting at 5 p.m.