Skip to content

Local drivers perform well at Hot Shoe 100

Blake Rowe was the big winner but a number of Sault-area drivers fared well at the biggest event in Kinross Speedpark history
2019-08-13 Hot Shoe 100 Winner BD
Photo courtesy Bob Davies Photography

It was the biggest event in the history of the track with the winner taking home a grand prize worth over $10,000.

When all was said and done 117 cars competed in the annual Hot Shoe 100, including 52 cars in the modified division looking to take home the top prize from a weekend of racing at Kinross Speedpark.

Blake Rowe of Ortonville, Mich. was the big winner after finishing in top spot in the 100-lap modified feature.

Rowe qualified with the fourth-quickest time at 14.137 seconds and was the four-car dash winner as well.

Josh Ware was the top Sault-area driver in the feature, finishing ninth and also captured a heat race win in the event, while retired NASCAR veteran Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, Mo.) finished seventh.

Dave Christenson (Clio, Mich.) won the B-main modified feature while Kyle Hayden (Clio, Mich.) won the Last Chance feature in the division.

Other modified heat race winners included Nick Lechota (Flushing, Mich,), Buddy Gray IV (Petoskey, Mich.), and Todd Jackson (Dafter, Mich.).

In the ABC stock cars division, it was a great weekend for Donnie Varcoe of the Sault, who qualified third with a time of 14.752 seconds and proceeded to win the A-feature in the division as well as a four-car dash and also had a third-place finish in a heat race.

Sault Ste. Marie’s Keenan Spurway finished third in the A-feature.

Mike Schwartz of Atlanta, Mich. won the B-feature in the division while Jeremy Yelle of Gwinn, Mich. won the C-feature.

In the four cylinder division, which was split into separate divisions, it was Sault Ste. Marie’s Rebecca Fewchuk who had herself a good day on the track.

After posting a qualifying time of 17.159 seconds, second to only Prince Township’s Rob Wagner, Fewchuk picked up a third-place finish in the four-car dash, a fourth-place finish in the second heat race and proceeded to win the feature in the division.

Megan Hayes of Sault Ste. Marie also had a heat race win in the division.

In the other four cylinder group, Todd Maki of Marquette, Mich. won the feature as well as the four-car dash and the lone heat race for the division.

Next action at Kinross is scheduled for Aug. 30 when the track holds its season championship with qualifying beginning at 6 p.m. and racing set to begin at 7:30 p.m.

The final event of the season at the track is set for Sept. 6 to 8 as Kinross holds its annual Memorial Invitational in memory of Randy Dewitt and Ted Brooks.


Brad Coccimiglio

About the Author: Brad Coccimiglio

A graduate of Loyalist College’s Sports Journalism program, Brad Coccimiglio’s work has appeared in The Hockey News as well as online at in addition to regular freelance work with SooToday before joining the team full time.
Read more