Skip to content
3.6 °Cforecast >
Light Rainshower

'Honouring Life Long Learning' (22 photos)

The George Leach Centre was awash with music and colour this past weekend as Algoma University, the Shingwauk Anishinaabe Students' Association, and the Anishinaabe Initiatives Division (AID) hosted the Gathering at the Rapids Pow Wow: Honouring
View Photo Gallery

The George Leach Centre was awash with music and colour this past weekend as Algoma University, the Shingwauk Anishinaabe Students' Association, and the Anishinaabe Initiatives Division (AID) hosted the Gathering at the Rapids Pow Wow: Honouring Life Long Learning.

The 9th annual celebration of Anishinaabe traditions and culture featured host drum Crazy Spirit from Mount Pleasant, Michigan and the Grammy-nominated Bear Creek Singers as co-host drum.

The two-day event ran without a hitch thanks in no small part to the hard work of Arena Director Kevin Syrette, Master of Ceremonies Joel Syrette and Head Veteran Steve Fleagle.

Hundreds of spectators gathered to enjoy a variety of Anishinaabe crafts, traditional food, and of course the time-honoured music, dancing and beautiful regalia.

"The 9th Annual Gathering at the Rapids Pow Wow was a big success," said Anishinaabe Events Coordinator Margaret Neveau in a statement today. "I am very pleased with all those who participated in the two-day event, and who shared with the community their pride in their culture and heritage. Approximately 2,000 people attended the event, making it one of the most successful pow wows we have had on campus to date! We hope to see everyone at next year's event."

The University, AID, Anishinaabe Events Coordinator Margaret Neveau, and SASA, which is comprised of the executive and student members of the University and Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig (SKG), would like to acknowledge and thank their partners; the Métis Nation of Ontario, the Indian Friendship Centre, and their sponsors, Turtle Concepts, Waabinong Head Start Family Resource Centre, the Algoma University Alumni Association, Algoma University First Generation Project, the Shingwauk Residential School Centre, the head staff, eagle staff and flag carriers, drum groups, dancers, vendors, and firekeeper.

The committee would also like to extend a warm Chi-Miigwetch to the many volunteers who helped make the large-scale event a huge success.

The following is a complete list of winners from the 9th annual Gathering at the Rapids Pow Wow.

Youth Girls' Jingle (6-12)

First: Niibishens Trudeau, Ojibway
Second: Madison Bartol, Pottawatomi
Third: Kitahna, Pima/Oneida/Menominee
Youth Girls' Fancy (6-12)

First: Micayla Silas, Pima/Oneida/Menominee
Second: Francesca Pheasant
Third: Paungbiisohn Trudeau, Ojibway
Youth Boys' Traditional/Chicken (6-12)

First: Hayden Recollet, Odawa
Second: Tanner Southwind, Ojibwe
Third: Tsista Kennedy, Ojibwa/Oneida
Youth Boys' Grass (6-12)

First: Tavynn Bluff-Trudeau
Second: Gegek Webkamigad, Potawatomi/Odawa
Youth Boys' Fancy (6-12)

First: Layakwas Kennedy, Oneida/Ojibway
Second: Wassnodeh Recollet, Arapaho/Ojibway
Third: Wiingashk Shawana, Ojibwa
Teen Girls' Jingle (13-17)

First: Dalla Shinos, Ojibwe
Second: Maya Schuyler, Oneida/Odawa
Third: Aiyana Nahwegahbow, Ojibway
Teen Girls' Fancy (13-17)

First: Annie Wemigwans
Teen Boys' Traditional/Chicken (13-17)

First: Noodin Shawanda, Odawa/Cree
Second: Mathew Oshkabewisens, Odawa
Teen Traditional (13-17)

First: Beedoskah Stonefish, Odawa/Chippewa
Teen Boys' Grass (13-17)

First: Miisheen Meegwun Shawanda, Odawa/Cree
Second: Jenmee Bondy, Ojibwe
Third: Wyatt Bell, Ojibwe
Golden Age Women (50+)

First: Karen Pheasant
Second: Maretta Jones, Ojibway
Third: Carol Hermiston
Golden Age Men (50+)

First: Tim McGregor
Second: Ray Trudeau
Third: Dennis Francis, Saulteaux/Cree
Adult Women's Traditional (18-49)

First: Kristol Abel, Ojibway
Second: Melissa Montoya, Ojibwe
Third: Tara Trudeau, Ojibway
Fourth: Bernadette Shawanda, Ojibwe/Odawa
Fifth: Angel Recollet Tarbox, Ojibwe
Adult Women's Jingle (18-49)

First: Shannon Manitowabi, Ojibway
Second: Maia Chivis, Ojibwe
Third: Sophie Pheasant Jones, Potawatomi/Ojibway
Fourth: Sonja Killips, Ojibwe
Fifth: Heather Schuyler, Oneida/Odawa
Adult Women's Fancy (18-49)

First: Tracy Recollet, Odawa/Ojibway
Second: Rose Track, Pima/Assiniboine/Sioux
Third: G'Mewin Migwans, Ojibwe
Fourth: Kari Dayfox, Ojibwe
Fifth: Deanna Cachagee
Adult Men's Traditional/Chicken (18-49)

First: Joe Syrette, Ojibwe
Second: Bryden Kiwenzie, Ojibwe
Third: Jan Ritchie, Ojibway
Fourth: Craig Fox, Ojibwe
Fifth: Michael Fisher, Ojibway
Adult Men's Grass (18-49)

First: Matthew Pheasant, Ojibway
Second: David Trudeau, Ojibway
Third: Frank Jackson, Ojibway
Fourth: Keith Edgar, Odawa/Potawatomi
Fifth: Raymond Shenosheg, Odawa
Adult Men's Fancy (18-49)

First: Marquel Crawford, Lakota/Ojibwe
Second: Nigel Schuyler, Oneida/Odawa
Third: Wesley Cleland, Ojibway
Fourth: Tyrone Shawanda, Ojibwa
Fifth: Paskwa Lightening, Cree
Old Style Jingle Dress Special Sponsored by Turtle Concepts

First: Karen Pheasant
Second: Liz Eshkibok
Third: Sophie Pheasant-Jones
Fourth: Kristol Abel
Fifth: Shannon Mabitowabi
One Man Hand Drum Competition (13-17)Sponsored by Turtle Concepts

First: Logan Syrette
Second: Dion Syrette
Teen Boys Traditional (13-17) Special Sponsored by: Algoma University Alumni Association

First: Noodin Shawanda
Second: Miisheen Meegwum Shawanda
Third: Mathew Ashkabewisens