Skip to content

City Police Beat

Saturday, May 18, 2002

The Sault Ste.Marie Police Service had a very quiet twenty-four hours and has nothing to report.

Friday, May 17, 2002

City police had a very quiet night last night and have nothing to report. There have been two more bear sightings in the city. A mother and 2 cubs were spotted in the Finn Hill area as well as two adult bears in the area of Maplewood Golf Course.

Thursday, May 16, 2002

ACCIDENT SENDS ONE TO HOSPITAL A traffic accident at the corner of Spring and Albert Streets has left two vehicles demolished and one driver suffering from minor injuries. At 9:03 a.m.

Wednesday, May 15, 2002

The City Police Service had a very quiet twenty-four hours and has nothing to report.

Tuesday, May 14, 2002

LIQUOR STOE SHOPLIFTING Police apprehended two adults for shoplifting yesterday at the Churchill Plaza LCBO outlet.

Monday, May 13, 2002

ACCIDENT SENDS ONE TO HOSPITAL On Saturday, police were called to a collision at North Street and Morrison Avenue.

Sunday, May 12, 2002

The City Police Service reports only 7 arrests during the past 24-hours. Two were young offenders who can't be identified. They were charged with minor thefts. Five adults were arrested for Breach of Undertaking-type offences.

Saturday, May 11, 2002

City police never give up. They arrested a 25-year-old male yesterday for a sexual assault that happened in 1994.

Friday, May 10, 2002

CAR-PEDESTRIAN ACCIDENT It was a quiet night around the city last night but yesterday morning at 8:56 police were called to the 700 block of Pine Street to investigate a car/pedestrian collision.

Thursday, May 9, 2002

CAR-PEDESTRIAN ACCIDENT Police were called to a pedestrian/car accident yesterday at 4:10 p.m. near the 300 block of John Street. Police say Cathy Elkas, age 11, of Bush Street stepped out into traffic from between stopped vehicles.