Skip to content

Two days left: update on local election nominations

Two new school trustee candidates were nominated Tuesday
Stock photo

With just two days remaining until nominations close on Friday, we now have a total of 42 candidates seeking office in the Oct. 24 municipal elections.

Two new school board candidates filed their paperwork on Tuesday.

Carol Amadio – teacher, holder of three university degrees, grandmother, interior decorator, bed and breakfast owner, world traveller (about 60 countries) and stalwart defender of Lake George wetlands – is running for Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board.

Norm Fera – who left an assistant manager's job at McDonald's in 1987 to sell concession popcorn at the old Memorial Gardens and start a 30-year career with the city – is vying for a Ward 1 seat on Algoma District School Board.

Fera was the last manager of the old Gardens and first manager of what's now known as GFL Memorial Gardens.

He also was responsible for the John Rhodes Community Centre, McMeeken Arena, Northern Community Centre and the city's marina operations.

On the non-profit side, Fera has been president of the Sault Community Theatre Centre and a director and treasurer with Habitat for Humanity Sault Ste. Marie and Area.

The deadline for other candidates to file paperwork is 2 p.m. Friday, Aug. 19. Here's a full list of nominations so far:


  • Ozzie Grandinetti
  • Donna Hilsinger
  • Tobin Kern 
  • Robert Peace
  • Matthew Shoemaker

City councillors:

  • Ward 1 – Brent Derochie
  • Ward 1 – Sandra Hollingsworth
  • Ward 1 – William McPhee
  • Ward 2 – Luke Dufour
  • Ward 2 – Lisa Vezeau-Allen
  • Ward 3 – Angela Caputo
  • Ward 3 – Kurtis McDermid
  • Ward 3 – Luis Moreno
  • Ward 3 – Ron Zagordo
  • Ward 4 – Marchy Bruni
  • Ward 4 – David Celetti
  • Ward 4 – Stephan Kinach
  • Ward 4 – Marek McLeod
  • Ward 5 – Corey Gardi
  • Ward 5 – Martin Poirier
  • Ward 5 – Matthew Scott

Algoma District School Board trustees:

  • Ward 1 – Norm Fera
  • Ward 1 – Jennifer Sarlo
  • Ward 2 – Susan Myers
  • Ward 3 – Greg Bowman
  • Ward 3 – Frank Gaccione
  • Ward 4 – Sara McCleary
  • Ward 4 – Susan Thayer
  • Ward 5 – Nick Apostle

ADSB Township of Prince and Sault North Locality:

  • Drew Craig
  • Sheryl Evans

Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board trustees:

  • Carol Amadio
  • John Caputo
  • Tony D'Agostino
  • Wayne Guy Greco
  • Annelise Iacoe
  • Gary Trembinski
  • Sandra Turco

District of Sault Ste. Marie Social Services Administration Board:

  • Stephanie Hopkin
  • Judy Hupponen

Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario trustee:

  • Louise Primeau 

Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario trustee:

  • Suzanne Salituri
Reader Feedback

David Helwig

About the Author: David Helwig

David Helwig's journalism career spans seven decades beginning in the 1960s. His work has been recognized with national and international awards.
Read more