Current Conditions
7.2 C
Light Rain and Drizzle
Today's Forecast
7 C
Periods of rain
Sponsored by Highland Ford

News And Views




Shop Local

More Local

Search The Web

Google Search


Steelers prominent among NFC award winners

Saturday, August 30, 2014   by: Brad Coccimiglio

The Northern Football Conference has announced the league’s annual awards and all-star teams as the season comes to a close.

The Sault Steelers were well represented on both lists.

For the second consecutive season, Josh Gauthier of the Steelers has been named the NFC’s most valuable player as well as the league’s offensive player of the year. It was the third time he has won both awards. Gauthier also won the August Kangro Memorial award as the league’s top scorer with a league-record 222 points. For the fifth time, Gauthier was also named to the NFC first all-star team at running back.

Also winning awards from the Steelers were Greg Torrance, who was named the NFC’s top offensive lineman, and Brandon Lewis, who was named the NFC’s top defensive lineman. Both were named to the first all-star team at their respective positions.

Other Steelers named to the first all-star team were Zack Kirk (offensive line), Luke Tenhagen (offensive line), Nathan Edwards (defensive line), Matt Gauthier (linebacker) and Pat Murray (defensive back).

Steelers named to the second all-star team included Dakota Boissoneau (offensive line), Drew McBride (offensive line) and Fred Casselman (defensive line).

Note: Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Keep discussions civil and on topic. Refrain from obscenity and don't post anything that your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
Advertising | Membership | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About | Contact Us | Feedback

Copyright ©2014 - All rights reserved