Current Conditions
-3.5 C
Mostly Cloudy
Today's Forecast
-4 C
Light snow
Sponsored by Highland Ford

News And Views




Shop Local

More Local

Search The Web

Google Search

National News

Newfoundland Liberals gain two more members

Newfoundland Liberals gain two more membersN.L. NDP leader Lorraine Michael in St. John's, N.L. on Sept 13, 2011. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Paul Daly

ST. JOHN'S, N.L. - Sources say the Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador will get two more members Tuesday.

They say former NDP members Chris Mitchelmore and Dale Kirby, who quit the caucus in October in a public leadership spat, will join the Liberals.

Both Kirby and Mitchelmore have sat as Independents since the dispute.

They left the NDP caucus after pushing for a leadership review to help renew the party and attract new members.

NDP Leader Lorraine Michael said she felt betrayed by the move.

Two Progressive Conservative government members have also crossed the floor to the resurgent Liberals over the past year.

Premier Kathy Dunderdale quit last month over questions about her leadership.

Former finance minister Tom Marshall has taken over as premier and has said he won't run in a leadership race expected later this year.

Kirby and Mitchelmore did not answer requests for comment.

With Kirby and Mitchelmore, the Liberals would have 11 seats in the legislature compared to 34 Tories and three New Democrats.

An election is expected sometime in 2015.

Advertising | Membership | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About | Contact Us | Feedback

Copyright ©2014 - All rights reserved