Current Conditions
1.7 C
Mostly Cloudy
Today's Forecast
6 C
Sponsored by Highland Ford

News And Views




Shop Local

More Local

Search The Web

Google Search

Local News

Former steel plant CEO gets new title

Friday, July 04, 2014   by: Staff



The Algoma University Board of Governors has elected Armando Plastino as their new Board Chair.

The election took place following the Annual General Meeting on June 19.

Outgoing Board Chair Tim Lavoie will now serve as Vice-Chair.

Mr. Plastino is a 1972 graduate of Ryerson University in Toronto.

He retired as the Chief Executive Officer of Essar Global's Canadian subsidiary, Essar Steel Algoma Inc. in 2011 after a career spanning nearly 39 years.

He is also a Director of Rockex Mining Corporation and joined the Board of Algoma University in 2011 serving as the Board's Vice-Chair since 2012.

"I look forward to assuming the Algoma University Board of Governors Chair position and am excited to work with the diverse and committed group of stakeholders represented on the Board," said Plastino.

"There are many challenges that lie ahead for the University, particularly in this environment of necessary fiscal constraint. However, there are also significant opportunities that Algoma University can take advantage of. As a Board, we will continue to pursue these opportunities in our quest to make Algoma University the 'University of Choice' for students in our region and beyond."

Tim Lavoie, who served as Board Chair from 2012 to 2014, was elected to a one-year term as Vice-Chair of the Board. 

Lavoie is the Regional Manager and Director of Northern Development for Algoma Power Inc.

He has been a member of the Algoma University Board of Governors since 2007.

For more information on Algoma U's Board of Governors, please click here.


Note: Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Keep discussions civil and on topic. Refrain from obscenity and don't post anything that your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
Advertising | Membership | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About | Contact Us | Feedback

Copyright ©2014 - All rights reserved