Current Conditions
Partly Cloudy
Today's Forecast
Periods of snow mixed with rain
Sponsored by Highland Ford

News And Views




Shop Local

More Local

Search The Web

Google Search

Local News

McCann to play in CHL Prospects Game

Friday, December 13, 2013   by: Brad Coccimiglio

Soo Greyhounds forward Jared McCann has been selected to compete in the CHL Top Prospects Game January.

McCann was one of 14 forwards from the Ontario Hockey League selected to compete in the game, scheduled for Jan. 15, 2014 in Calgary, AB.

McCann will skate for Team Orr in the game, coached by former Calgary Flames Lanny McDonald, Mike Vernon and Joel Otto.

Team Cherry will be coached by Jim Peplinski, Paul Reinhart and Tim Hunter.

The 40 players selected to compete in the game are selected by the 30 NHL teams and split into two teams by NHL Central Scouting for the game. The rosters include 20 players from the OHL, 13 from the Western League and seven from the Quebec League.

“The BMO CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game is an event that all NHL scouts and General Managers look forward to attending,” said NHL Central Scouting Director Dan Marr in a release. “The players competing in this game were chosen by the 30 NHL clubs with the game being a unique opportunity for management to evaluate 40 of the top draft eligible prospects in a single game, and for the players to take advantage of the spotlight and elevate their play in what has annually become an intense and exciting competition.”

Team Orr Roster

Goaltenders: Mason McDonald (Acadie-Bathurst – QMJHL), Julio Billia (Chicoutimi – QMJHL)

Defencemen: Alex Peters (Plymouth – OHL), Brycen Martin (Swift Current – WHL), Aaron Ekblad (Barrie – OHL), Julius Honka (Swift Current – WHL), Ben Thomas (Calgary – WHL), Aaron Haydon (Niagara – OHL)

Forwards: Eric Cornel (Peterborough – OHL), Brendan Perlini (Niagara – OHL), Jake Virtanen (Calgary – WHL), Jared McCann (Sault Ste. Marie – OHL), Brendan Lemieux (Barrie – OHL), Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax – QMJHL), Clark Bishop (Cape Breton – QMJHL), Josh Ho-Sang (Windsor – OHL), Blake Clarke (North Bay – OHL), Leon Draisaitl (Prince Albert – WHL), Sam Bennett (Kingston – OHL), Spencer Watson (Kingston – OHL)

Team Cherry
Goaltenders: Ty Edmonds (Prince George – WHL), Alex Nedeljkovic (Plymouth – OHL)

Defencemen: Roland McKeown (Kingston – OHL), Alexis Vanier (Baie-Comeau – QMJHL), Hadyn Fleury (Red Deer – WHL), Anthony DeAngelo (Sarnia), Aaron Irving (Edmonton – WHL), Nelson Nogier (Saskatoon – WHL)

Forwards: Chase DeLeo (Portland – WHL), Robby Fabbri (Guelph – OHL), Nick Ritchie (Peterborough – OHL), Matt Mistele (Plymouth – OHL), Sam Reinhart (Kootenay – WHL), Nikita Scherbak (Saskatoon – WHL), Daniel Audette (Sherbrooke – QMJHL), Ivan Barbashev (Moncton – QMJHL), Michael Dal Colle (Oshawa – OHL), Ryan McInnis (Kitchener – OHL), Nikolay Goldobin (Sarnia – OHL), Conner Bleackley (Red Deer – WHL)

McCann file photo courtesy's Kenneth Armstrong

Please sign in to post a response
Note: Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Keep discussions civil and on topic. Refrain from obscenity and don't post anything that your grandmother would be ashamed to read. Those who do not abide by these guidelines will have their membership revoked without notice. If you see an abusive post, please click the link beside the post to report it.
Advertising | Membership | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About | Contact Us | Feedback

Copyright ©2014 - All rights reserved